Welcome to Atomic Academia

ⓘ The Age of Data

All Ages History Videos for kids?

missbee23

Legacy Member
History is a hard subject for kids who have trouble reading. I was always pretty good at studying through books, but I especially remember the times we watched video documentaries. We watched the entire Eyes on the Prize series about the American Civil Rights Movement in the 50's. It affected me profoundly, and I remember being moved to tears. I still remember those scenes to this day (20+ years later).

I think watching videos for history is a very important supplement to book learning. I would like my kids to learn about history, and I would like to know of other important historical documentaries that are worth watching. Thanks!

I am a teacher for children with special needs at the K-5 level who are all academic. Many of my students are of normal intelligence, but have reading deficits. I am always looking for material to supplement my teaching since many science, social studies, and history text books are written a grade level or more above the actual grade. So, naturally struggling readers are not going to be successful reading the text, much less understanding it. So, I pull many leveled readers, in addition to many videos and supplemental material from Discovery Education. I also use Bill, The Science Guy, The Magic School Bus, Scholastic, and Brain Pop/Brain Pop Junior. I also do many web searches for Interactive Read Alouds. Discovery Education has many documentaries for grades K-12. I'm not sure what the cost is to gain access to this site. My school district has invested the funds for all educators to have access to Discovery Ed. But, if interested, it would be worth looking into the cost. You can find documentaries on any topic you want to present to your students. The site also breaks down material for all grade levels.